XTERRA France this Weekend in Xonrupt

The 16th annual XTERRA France off-road triathlon takes place this Sunday, July 2, in the beautiful Vosges mountains of Xonrupt.

The 12th of 21 stops on the 2023 XTERRA EMEA Tour annually draws thousands of racers and fans from around the world to the beautiful lake of Longemer in northeastern France.

The course itself is one of the toughest on the XTERRA World Tour, combining a 1.5K swim with a 40K mountain bike that climbs more than 1200 meters and weaves through a magnificent bike park made of wooden ramps, and a 10K technical trail run through the forest. (Read the full preview here).

The top four ranked women in the XTERRA World Rankings are on the start list with reigning World Triathlon Cross Tri World Champ Sandra Mairhofer, reigning XTERRA World Champion Solenne Billouin, current XTERRA World Cup leader Alizée Paties (pictured), and recent XTERRA European Championship race winner, Loanne Duvoisin.

Adding to the intrigue is Diede Diederiks, the 2023 World Triathlon Cross Duathlon Champion, who finished runner-up at the XTERRA European Championship two years ago.

Elite Women
XWR – Name, NAT

1 – Sandra Mairhofer, ITA
2 – Solenne Billouin, FRA
3 – Alizée Paties, FRA
4 – Loanne Duvoisin,  SUI
10 – Diede Diederiks,  NED
14 – Carina Wasle, AUT
19 – Segolene Leberon, FRA
24 – Emma Ducreux, FRA
33 – Carolyne Guay, CAN
34 – Solene Marnoni, FRA
35 – Georgia Grobler, RSA
37 – Camille Jobard, FRA
50 – Maud Golsteyn, NED
79 – Katja Krenn, AUT

In the men’s elite race all eyes will be on the 2019 XTERRA France Champion and World Ranked No. 2, Arthur Forissier (pictured), going up against his fellow countryman, the 2021 XTERRA France Champion, Maxim Chané.

Those two will certainly do their best to claim the title for their home country fans while XTERRA World Cup standouts and mountain bike specialists, Sébastien Carabin and Jens Emil Sloth Nielsen, hope to take advantage of the grueling bike course to steal a big win for themselves.

Elite Men
XWR – Name, NAT

2 – Arthur Forissier, FRA
5 – Sébastien Carabin, BEL
7 – Jens Emil Sloth Nielsen, DEN    
8 – Maxim Chané, FRA
14 – Francois Vie, POR
16 – Michele Bonacina, ITA
20 – Xavier Dafflon, SUI
26 – Scott Anderson, GER
33 – Guillaume Meunier, FRA
34 – Lucas Van Deynze, BEL
42 – Rui Dolores, POR
47 – Geert Lauryssen, BEL
55 – Tom Fisher, AUS
64 – Timothee Augeul, FRA
69 – Matteo Sfregola, ITA
94 – Gianfranco Cucco,  ITA
95 – Joeri Deleebeeck, BEL
99 – Guillaume Desette, FRA
110 – Tim Van Daele, BEL
111 – Paris Fellmann, LUX
112 – Morgan Rhodes, GBR
176 – James Shalvoy, USA

There is a lot at stake for amateur racers as well, including the chance to secure a qualifying slot into the XTERRA World Championship in Trentino, Italy this September.

In addition to the main event, XTERRA France will host an invite-only enduro race (swim-bike-run x3), kids’ races, a swim-run, and a sprint tri with more than 2,000 competitors taking part in the action.

Find event updates on Instagram, and live results here.

All-Time XTERRA France Elite Champions
Year – Men’s Champ / Women’s Champ (Site)

2006 – Cedric Fleureton / Renata Bucher (Saint Raphael)
2008 – Nicolas Lebrun / Renata Bucher (Auron)
2008 – Nicolas Lebrun / Renata Bucher (Mondelieu)
2010 – Nicolas Lebrun / Marion Lorblanchet (Xonrupt)                           
2011 – Victor Del Corral / Renata Bucher (Xonrupt)
2012 – Asa Shaw / Helena Erbenova (Xonrupt)
2013 – Nicolas Lebrun / Helena Erbenova (Xonrupt)
2014 – Ruben Ruzafa  / Kathrin Mueller (Xonrupt)
2015 – Ruben Ruzafa / Kathrin Mueller (Xonrupt)
2016 – Ruben Ruzafa / Lesley Paterson (Xonrupt)
2017 – Ruben Ruzafa / Laura Philipp (Xonrupt)
2018 – Ruben Ruzafa  / Brigitta Poor (Xonrupt)
2019 – Arthur Forissier / Morgane Riou (Xonrupt)
2021 – Maxim Chané / Solenne Billouin (Xonrupt)
2022 – Felix Forissier / Marta Menditto (Xonrupt)

Leave a Comment

Send this to a friend