XTERRA France Short Track Live on Saturday

Ζωντανή αναμετάδοση του XTERRA France Short Track από το Xonrupt της Γαλλίας, με συμμετοχή του Παναγιώτη Μπιτάδου!

June 30, 2022 – The 2022 XTERRA Short Track season gets underway this Saturday, July 2, in Xonrupt, France with the women’s race at 16:20 CEST, and the men to follow at 17:20 CEST.

Commentators Paul Groves, Roger Serrano, and Chun de Stockel will provide play-by-play and analysis during free, live coverage of the event here:

The XTERRA Short Track France format challenges competitors to a 200-meter swim, followed by an obstacle-filled, two-kilometer mountain bike and a one-kilometer trail run, each done three times in succession (swim-bike-run-swim-bike-run-swim-bike-run).

It’s an invite-only event exclusive to the top 25 eligible men and women, the majority of whom earned their spot via XTERRA World Rankings status (see start lists below).  

More than 5,000 spectators will be on-site at one of XTERRA’s most iconic venues to create a roaring track-side atmosphere around the infamous bike park – an intricate series of wooden ramps and berms that up the action, speed, and adrenaline for athletes and fans.

The showcase race on Saturday is a prelude to the traditional full-distance XTERRA France off-road triathlon for amateurs and professionals on Sunday. It’s the first of four Short Track/Full-Distance weekends that will award €200,000 to the world’s fastest XTERRA racers.

July 2-3: XTERRA Short Track – France
August 13-14: XTERRA Short Track – Czech Republic
August 19-20: XTERRA Short Track – Germany
October 1-2: XTERRA Short Track – Italy

The event has lured the world’s best off-road triathletes to France.

The women’s race is led by the 2021 World Cross Triathlon Champion, Loanne Duvoisin of Switzerland, who finished second to only Flora Duffy at the XTERRA World Championship last December.

Duvoisin won the first-ever XTERRA Short Trace race in 2019, and captured XTERRA Short Track Lake Garda last year. Marta Menditto from Italy, who just won the u23 World Cross Triathlon Championship title, is the only other woman in the field to have won two Short Track races before.

Samantha Kingsford from New Zealand, who swept all three majors in the U.S. last season, will be making her Short Track debut on Saturday.

“It’s a really different format than usual so I’ll be going into the unknown a bit,” she said. “It’ll be fast and furious for sure, and will make for really good watching. It’ll be cool to have the age groupers watch the race unfold too because they usually don’t get that opportunity.”

Elite Women
Bib# / XWR* – Name, NAT

1/2 – Loanne Duvoisin, SUI
2/4 – Samantha Kingsford, NZL
3/5 – Alizee Paties, FRA
4/9 – Solenne Billouin, FRA
5/10 – Jindriska Zemanova, CZE
6/11 – Morgane Riou, FRA
7/15 – Marta Menditto, ITA
8/16 – Carina Wasle, AUT
9/22 – Segolene Leberon, FRA
10/23 – Amanda Felder, USA
11/34 – Hana Odlova, CZE
12/37 – Camille Jobard, FRA
13/38 – Evelyne Trepte, SUI
14/46 – Barbora Stupkova, CZE
15/51 – Bonnie Van Wilgenburg, GBR
16/53 – Gaelle Leduc, FRA
17/36 – Jacqui Allen, GBR
18/97 – Marine Echevin, FRA
19/NR – Maria Doring, GER
20/87 – Honorine Sulliot, FRA
21/172 – Katja Krenn, AUT
22/NR – Faustine Bachelet, FRA
23/235 – Lyson Dumont, FRA
*XTERRA World Rank

In the men’s race all eyes are on Arthur Serrieres from France, who has been dominant so far this year in winning the World Cross Triathlon Championship and all three XTERRA races he’s lined up at in Portugal, Italy, and Belgium.

Serrieres won the last XTERRA Short Track race, which was held in Pujols, France last year. He also won XTERRA Short Track Czech Republic in 2020.

Nobody, however, has won more Short Track crowns than Arthur Forissier from France, who has three to his credit. The only other man on the start list with a ST title is Ruben Ruzafa, the 3-time XTERRA World Champion from Spain, who won ST Italy in 2020.

Elite Men
Bib# / XWR* – Name, NAT

1/2 – Arthur Serrieres, FRA
2/3 – Ruben Ruzafa, ESP
3/5 – Sébastien Carabin, BEL
4/7 – Felix Forissier, FRA
5/8 – Maxim Chane, FRA
6/9 – Sam Osborne, NZL
7/10 – Jens Emil Sloth Nielsen, DEN
8/12 – Panagiotis Bitados, GRE
9/15 – Arthur Forissier, FRA
10/19 – Xavier Dafflon, SUI
11/20 – Jens Roth, GER
12/21 – Francois Vie, POR
13/23 – Guillaume Meunier, FR
14/25 – Francois Carloni, FRA
15/28 – Michele Bonacina, ITA
16/31 – Federico Spinazze, ITA
17/32 – Mathias Cloostermans, BEL
18/41 – Geert Laryssen, BEL
19/42 – Lucas Van Deynze, BEL
20/51 – Jacques Martinez, FRA
21/33 – Rui Dolores, POR
22/36 – Andrea Zanenga, ITA
23/52 – Kristoffer Visti Graae, DEN
24/62 – Kieran Jackson, IRL
25/89 – Tom Fisher, AUS
26/NR – Krilian Le Bihan, FRA
*XTERRA World Rank

Other helpful links:

Round 1 Preview

Everything you need to know about Short Track

XTERRA France Weekend Overview

XTERRA July Events Preview

XTERRA Homepage  

XTERRA World Rankings

XTERRA Europe Facebook Page

XTERRA Europe Instagram
All-time XTERRA Short Track Champions
Date (Location) Winners

August 4, 2019 (Prachatice, Czech Republic) Arthur Forissier/Loanne Duvoisin
September 4, 2020 (Prachatice, Czech Republic) Arthur Serrieres/Laura Philipp
October 3, 2020 (Trentino, Italy) Ruben Ruzafa/Marta Menditto
June 5, 2021 (Lake Garda, Italy) Arthur Forissier/Loanne Duvoisin
June 20, 2021 (Prachatice, Czech Republic) Arthur Forissier/Marta Menditto
August 20, 2021 (Zittau, Germany) Lucas Kocar/Diede Diederiks
August 29, 2021 (Pujols, France) Arthur Serrieres/Michelle Flipo

Leave a Comment

Send this to a friend